Gallo Pinto

 
Ahhh, Costa Rica. Such a beautiful place. I visited last year and had one of the BEST vacations of my life. I saw an old friend, visited the hot springs of Arenal, took in the natural beauty, zipped through the cloud forest, and laid in the sun for a few days. Yeah, it was magical.

Costa Rican cuisine is focused on the national dish of gallo pinto. It’s basically rice and beans lightly seasoned with cilantro, onions, and peppers. I ate so much gallo pinto while on vacation that I found myself becoming a connoisseur. “The gallo pinto from this morning is far better than this batch. The need to pull back on the cilantro and add more pepper.”

Yeah, too much.

Last week, I created a quick and easy gallo pinto recipe. It was a dinner hit and we’ll definitely be adding it to the rotation. Note that I used pantry items — making this one a great idea for those times when you haven’t been grocery shopping in a while.

Gallo Pinto

  1. Cook 1 cup of white rice.
  2. While the rice is simmering, season it with 1 tsp dried cilantro leaves, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp dry minced onion flakes, 1/4 tsp adobo season-all, fresh pepper to taste.
  3. Drain a 15.5 ounce can of black beans and set aside.
  4. Once the rice is finished cooking, add the beans to the pot and mix well.
  5. Cook entire mixture on low until heated throughout.
Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

