Chicken Scarpariello

I just came back from vacation and as always, my body has been craving comfort food and veggies. I’d usually whip up a batch of spaghetti and meatballs but a different craving has been on my mind this time. Chicken Scarpariello: roasted lemon, garlic, and herb chicken on the bone. I have this dish whenever I go to Carmine’s in NYC and my mouth was watering for it yesterday. I’m in DC right now, so I had to do my best to recreate the recipe at home.

Ingredients

  • 10 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 shallot, finely minced
  • 2 teaspoons fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 2 lemon halves
  • olive oil

Instructions

  1. Set oven rack 6-8 inches below broiler.  Preheat oven broiler on low setting (if available)
  2. Wash and pat chicken dry.  Season chicken with salt, pepper, garlic, shallot, parsley, rosemary, and juice of 1 lemon half.
  3. Heat large oven-safe skillet over med-high heat.  Coat bottom of pan with olive oil.  Add chicken thighs to pan, top down.  Cook for 5 minutes, until seared side is golden brown. 
  4. Turn chicken over and reduce heat to medium.  Cook for 2 minutes.
  5. Add squeeze of second lemon half to chicken.  Move skillet to oven, broiling for 15 minutes, until chicken is cooked throughout and brown all over.  Remove from oven and serve immediatly.
  6. If desired, use flour/water mixture to thicken pan drippings.  You can also add chicken broth or white wine to pan drippings.

This was quite the hit.  I served it with sauteed spinach and lentils.  There are lots of variations that include mushrooms, sausage, and roasted red peppers.   I’d shy away from using boneless skinless chicken breasts here as they are likely to dry out.  Also, fresh herbs (rosemary) always add an extra pop.  I used my handheld chopper to cut everything up and recommend that tool for all home cooks with limited time.

One Comment

  1. Posted May 13, 2009 at 6:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    sounds really tasty … Laila …

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

