Community Supported Agriculture

This is the first week of my CSA.  For those of you unfamiliar, a CSA is effectively stock in a farm’s growing season.  You purchase the stock upfront and during the growing season, you and other shareholders reap the rewards of the harvest.  You get whatever they grow — not like the grocery store where you pick and choose what you want.  Most CSAs use minimal (if any) pesticides although they are not normally certified organic. 

CSAs with DC pick-up sites are very popular and many have waiting lists.  Last year, I couldn’t even get onto the waiting list for any!  This year, I snagged a spot in early April!  So starting this week, I should be swimming in veggies not of my choosing.  And this is where the anxiety sets in.  I’m a pretty good cook and can whip up a meal from whatever’s on hand.  But what will I do when they give me things I don’t even recognize or know how to cook? 

This week I am expecting arugula, broccoli, cauliflower, cilantro, garlic flowers, lettuce, mesclun mix, mizuna, pac choi, radish, spinach, stir fry mix, tatsoi.   The cauliflower, garlic flowers, mizuna, pac choi, and tatsoi are all new territory for me.  What to do, what to do.

Check out What’s For Dinner to help me with my challenges of making meals from what I have on hand, including my CSA challenges.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

