CSA – Week Two

This week’s CSA pick-up went much better.  I ended up with spring onions, chives, garlic scapes, basil, chinese cabbage (I think), and some greens I couldn’t recognize.  They are light green, flat triangle shaped leaves with a spicy flavor similar to arugula. 

Here’s the list of what was expected:

  • Chinese cabbage
  • mustard greens
  • baby onions
  • garlic scapes
  • some basil
  • parsley  (or maybe sorrel)
  • an herb plant  (this time parsley, sage, thyme, oregano, or marjoram)
  • chives

So I wonder if this unknown plant is sorrel.  It doesn’t look like sorrel.  Who knows.  The only sorrel I’ve ever known is the Jamaican drink.  I may just toss the leaves with some vinegar and call it salad.

The next CSA pickup is tomorrow!  Keep your fingers crossed.

One Comment

  1. Agbenyo
    Posted June 24, 2009 at 2:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was going to join a CSA in the Bronx. I like going to the farmer market in Union Square though.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

