The 14-day Challenge

I totally fell off the wagon for exercising every workday with my coworkers.  Consequently, the last 20 pounds have increased.  Ahhh.  So now I’m trying  a new tactic.  I’m going to follow Monnie’s 14-day challenge with a few tweaks.  Rules are as follows:

  1. Weigh in and take measurements on the first and last day of the challenge.
  2. Exercise at least 3 times a week for 30 minutes
  3. Do not eat rice, pasta, bread, potatoes, corn, or cereal
  4. Eat all the fruits and veggies you want (with exception of any mentioned in 3)
  5. Avoid sodas, chips, cookies, cake, ice cream, and anything else with added sugar
  6. Drink water, coffee, or tea
  7. No sauces
  8. Eat 3 meals and two snacks each day

One day in and things are going pretty well.  I missed the lunch and midday snack yesterday (nap) but had a fantastic dinner of sauteed shrimp, zucchini, and squash blossoms (seasoned with garlic scapes, thai basil, spring onions, and shitake mushrooms).  All of the produce came from the CSA or farmer’s market!

I’ve learned that I must have a B-vitamin for energy, or else I’ll be dragging through the entire day.  I also packed a week’s worth of snacks last night, so I’ll have something I can just grab when on-the-go.  Snacks include cherries and  blueberries, cherry tomatoes, peaches, summer sausage stick, carrots, and string cheese.

I’m also not on the no alcohol plan.  I’ll certainly try but a girl needs some vices to maintain her pleasant aura.  Alcohol will be limited to red wine or vodka martinis (no added sugar).

Anyone with me?

5 Comments

  1. Posted July 6, 2009 at 11:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have never been able to stick to a diet. I spend a lot of time thinking about food so its hard for me to restrict myself from eating anything. (Like bread. I know its bad for me but I love bread) But I’ve been reading Naturally Thin by that girl from the Real Housewives of NY and found it pretty interesting. I’ve just tried to not eat mindlessly and have been able to fit into some old clothes. Not sure how many pounds I’ve lost but fitting into old clothes makes me feel really good.

    Can’t wait to read your results. I have a lot of friends who would love to drop some pounds so I’d def. forward your diet to them if it works for you.

    • Donna
      Posted July 6, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I hear you on the food restrictions. What have I gotten myself into???

  2. Dana
    Posted July 6, 2009 at 3:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am not in. LOL.. But on another note. Please have a drink for me. I am feenin’. LOL.

    • Donna
      Posted July 6, 2009 at 4:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You’re funny! I’ll have to serve you your first drink once you’re off the wagon.

  3. Posted July 20, 2009 at 8:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This seems pretty simple and the plan I came up with for myself is sort of similar, except I have not restricted myself from carbs.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

