Green Smoothie

Nutritionist Kimberly Snyder discussed cleanses and detoxes on GMA in mid-July.  She poo-poohed the Master Cleanse (hot lemonade) as well as some other popular cleansing diets.

Instead, she recommends replacement of one daily meal the with a green smoothie.  The smoothie is a blend of fruits, veggies, and herbs, whose alkalinity will detox the body on an ongoing basis (the scientist in me has scrunched up her face).  Anyhow… I’m all for additional ways to make sure I hit my 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day.  I love smoothies, so why not try one with veggies, lettuce and the like?

My only hesitation is based on the fact that Ms. Snyder seems to be promoting this green smoothie as a pathway to vegetarianism.  You know I’m A-OK with eating meat.  At any rate, you can halve the recipe if you don’t need 4 servings.  Also, be sure to use a good blender.  I doubt this will be edible if everything is not finely pureed.  You can store it covered in your fridge for 2-3 days if needed.  That may be my plan — then I can make it the night before.

Ingredients

  • 1 head of organic romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 3-4 stalks of organic celery
  • 1 organic apple, cored and chopped
  • 1 organic pear, cored and chopped
  • 1/3 bunch of organic cilantro
  • 1/3 bunch of organic parsley
  • Juice of 1/2 fresh organic lemon

Directions

Combine the water and chopped head of romaine into your blender. Starting the blender on a low speed, mix until smooth. Gradually moving to higher speeds, add the herbs, celery, apple and pear. Add lemon juice last. Serve chilled or at room temperature. This recipe makes about four servings.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

