Mexican Night

mexican night

Mexican night was a huge success.

I decorated the table very simply, with a colorful striped tablecloth, pinata (unfilled), a matador cape (repurposed cloth napkin), and a vase filled with Mexican candy. 

For fresh flowers, I used sunflowers and red gerbera daisies.

On the menu were carnitas, Milk’s famous turkey tacos, rice and beans, guacamole, salsa verde and pico de gallo.  Dessert was chocolate (of course) — specifically the Mexican chocolate cake.

Guests were able to choose between corn or flour tortillas and a spread of red onion, cilantro, and chopped peppers was offered to spice up the taco fillings.  mex_condiments_-_mod

mex_torillas_-_modI’m a big fan of repurposed vases/containers, so I put the tortilla chips in a tall wide cylindrical vase.  I’ve also used this same vase as a fruit bowl, to hold pines cones, and for a whole host of other decorative/serving uses.

In addition to margaritas, I served those watermelon lemon drop martinis that I so love.  I also provided a non-alcoholic agua fresca version for the kiddies.

All in all, Mexican night was a huge success and everyone seemed to have a great time.  It may become an annual event.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

