Carnitas

While living in California, I totally fell in love with carnitas.  What is carnitas you ask??? Well it’s well seasoned and chopped (or shredded) pork used to make tacos.  I’d head to Taqueria San Jose, order a plate of carnitas tacos and a horchata.  Top it all off with a spicy mango lollipop.  Since being back east, I’ve yet to find anyone who makes the carnitas of my memory.  Imagine my surprise at stumbling across this recipe for slow-cooked carnitas?  And the ability to use my crockpot just made me add this recipe to my regular menu (not just special occasion) rotation.  Any lovers of Carolina style pork BBQ — try this recipe for them.  Just omit the cumin and oregano.  Instead, add 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar to the slow cooker, 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper, and 1/2 cup of tomato sauce.

carnitas-modIngredients:

  • 2 pounds boneless  pork shoulder, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano (preferably Mexican)
  • 2 teaspoons cumin

 

 

Directions:

  1. Toss pork in with salt, black pepper, oregano, and cumin to coat. Place in slow cooker, cover and cook on low setting until meat is very tender and falling apart, about 6 hours.
  2. Using slotted spoon, transfer pork to cutting board.  Using fingers, shred pork and transfer carnitas to platter.
  3. Serve with tortillas, salsa, and guacamole.
One Comment

  1. Posted August 2, 2009 at 9:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for the recipe. I’ve used taco packet seasonings before to make this but have always wanted to make it with my own blend of spices. I will be making this dish soon for friends!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

