Safeway Lowers Prices 25%

Safeway stores in the Mid-Atlantic have reduced prices up to 25%.  The price reductions are targeted to staples that consumers buy regularly — coffee, paper products, and laundry supplies. 

I’ve always viewed Safeway as more expensive than Giant.  So for someone like me, who doesn’t want to shop at multiple stores, is Safeway a better deal

Consumers Checkbook has been comparing grocery store prices for 30 years. President Robert Krughoff says Safeway and Giant have been the dominant chains, and their prices are near the top of its surveys, too. 

“I think Giant, Safeway, Harris Teeter all have been trying to make their prices more attractive. To the extent to whether that is really a real difference in price is still up for grabs,” says Krughoff.

We checked Safeway’s prices on five things I buy every week:
a half gallon of Horizon Organic 1& milk, a loaf of Wonder Kids Whole Grain white bread, an 8.9 oz box of plain Cheerios, a two-roll pack of Bounty paper towels and a small can of Chock Full O’Nuts French Roast coffee.

Three of the items, the milk, the cereal, and the paper towels had the new price.

Milk: $3.99
Bread: $2.99
Cereal: $3.29
Paper towels: $4.69
Coffee: $4.49

Safeway’s total came to $19.45.

The same five items at Giant cost $18.95, just 60 cents better than Safeway. The surprise winner in our quick sample: Wegmans…

…The exact same milk, bread, cereal, paper towels and coffee there came to a grand total of $16.85…

Compared to Safeway and Giant prices, Krughoff says, a family of four that spends $150 a week can save $1,000 dollars a year buying the exact same items at Wegmans. That’s as long as they’re not tempted by all the pretty extras. That’s where Wegman’s makes its profit.

“You have to go in and adhere to your plan or you can spend a lot more money at Wegmans than you otherwise would,” advises Krughoff.

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 14, 2009 at 1:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I remember when I was an extremely poor grad student I used to clip coupons and shop at two or three stores to take advantage of specials. Many years later I have found that over the course of the year given my shopping patterns, and my version of staple items, Harris Teeter is the best place for me. Though, if there were a Wegmans that was more convenient to me, it might have the crown.

  2. Donna
    Posted August 28, 2009 at 11:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    My current shopping plans involve avoiding the grocery store as much as possible. I get veggies from my CSA, supplement with fruit, meat, dairy, and bakery items from the farmers market, buy meat in bulk from Costco. I typically run in the grocery store for one-off items.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

