What’s for Dinner – Succotash with Okra

So, after leaving the CSA with corn, okra, tomatoes, and peppers, I decided to whip up a modified succotash.

I used 4 okra pods, 1 ear of corn, one sweet pepper, and 3 orange tomatoes.  Sliced the okra and sauteed it in olive oil.  Added the corn (kernels cut from the cob) chopped pepper and tomatoes, and a little diced onion.  Seasoned it all with salt and pepper and sauteed for ~10 minutes.

I wish I had taken a picture of it (I need a new camera) because the dish was beautiful.  The tomatoes had cooked down and provided orange chunks throughout the dish of light yellow and green.  It looked beautiful.  And the taste was all sweetness and freshness.  It was a great showcase of good produce.

The only real downside was the okra.  It was tough and woody and some pieces were too tough to chew.  What gives?  I did some research and it seems that if the okra is left on the plant too long, it turns woody.  I think that’s what happened here.  Does anyone know about this?  Because I’m an okra novice and I wonder if I need to prep the okra differently to avoid the woodiness.  Does the frying make this worse?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

