In Search of CSA

This is my first year as a CSA shareholder (if you don’t know what that is, look here, here, and here for more info, I’ll wait).  I’m past the halfway mark and have some pretty strong feelings about my current CSA thus far.  Now to be clear, I think CSA shares are great.  It’s a way to support local farms.  The farms are typically smaller so they use less pesticides and other crap in their farming.  The produce isn’t travelling cross-country so there’s less pollution associated with getting it to you, and you get the produce the day it is harvested so it may very well be the best tasting produce you’ve ever had.

Now to my complaints, and these are specific to MY PARTICULAR CSA.  A friend is a shareholder in a different CSA and she is having a totally different experience.

  • The produce is not pre-packed, each member packs his/her own produce according to the alloted amounts for the week.  What this means is that if you don’t arrive within the first 30 minutes of the 90 minute pick-up window, they may have run out of some items.
  • Much of my produce has consisted of seasonings, not the main veggies you eat.  For the first few weeks, my share consisted of garlic scapes, spring onions, and chives.
  • My produce shares are ‘light’.  I’ve subscribed to a 2 person share so I should get enough veggies for 2 people to eat for a week, right?  Wrong.  Our veggie supply is rarely enough to make it past 4 days.
  • I rarely get enough of any one veggie to actually make a dish.  One week I received 7 okra pods.  Yeah, you heard me.
  • The tomatoes are sometimes so ripe they spoil within 3 days.
  • I have an egg share which I absolutely love.  There is nothing like farm fresh eggs.  What I don’t love is that the eggs are dirty when we pick them up.  They are often covered with straw and what I assume is chicken crap.  Yuck.

So now I’m searching for another CSA with a DC pick-up site (or better yet, delivery).  Does anyone have a CSA they love?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

