Nutrition Books

Hey Readers!

Can any of you recommend a book on nutrition?  Ideally, I want a book that covers the digestive process and how specific foods may affect the typical digestive process.  I also want a better understanding of the links between the digestive system and the immune system.

If you have any recommendations, kindly leave them in the comments section.

Oh, and if you’re looking for a book about the American food system, check out Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan.  I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned so much about the foods I see in the grocery story, organic foods, and sustainable farming methods.

Yes, my request is fairly technical.  I’m a scientist at heart, what can I say?

One Comment

  1. Posted September 23, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I found the Eat This, Not That books very helpful and straightforward, especially the grocery store edition. It helps you learn to really read labels and to distinguish the best choices to make for the things you want to eat. Somethings that you would assume are healthy really aren’t.

    For example: Choosing Rice Krispies Treats over Nutri-Grain Cereal Bars will cut your sugar and calorie intake nearly in half! (With this switch, you could lose a pound every 7 weeks!)

    http://eatthis.menshealth.com/home

    Congrats on your weight loss.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

