Chili

Milk's famous chili

Milk's famous chili

Tah-dah!  Behold Milk’s famous chili.

He makes this several times a year (never in the summer) and last year even gave me some to freeze and save for later. 

Now I tried to get a recipe to share but it seems that the chef didn’t measure anything.  Actually, that’s not entirely true.  The chef remarked that “Cans measure themselves”.   So there you have it folks. 

The picture below shows the ingredients laid out before he starts.  Spices consist of paprika, cumin, chili powder, and I don’t know what else more.  He also added some fresh herbs, mainly basil and oregano.

Chili ingredients

Chili ingredients

We’ll eat it just straight up without toppings or covered with an assortment of cheese, chopped onions, cilantro, chopped tomatoes, sour cream and rice.  I like to eat my chili with tortilla chips for scooping.  And one of my favorites is to ladle chili over a square of cornbread, making sure each bite includes both chili and cornbread.  Yum!

 
3 Comments

  1. Rashida
    Posted September 18, 2009 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks really good! I have never thought to try chili with sour cream before but I bet that is good.

    • Donna
      Posted September 18, 2009 at 3:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

      If the chili is hot, sour cream will help cool it down. Plus, it just tastes good. The tanginess of the sour cream pairs well with the smokiness of the chili.

  2. Posted September 20, 2009 at 12:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am a bit of a strict constructionist when it comes to my chili. I believe that it should be eaten with one condiment at a time… not to include tortilla chips, they do not count in the one condiment maximum.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

