Milk’s work

Maybe he’ll grace us with the recipe.

That first day back at work is a killer.  Especially when you’re forced to eat the cafeteria’s offerings because you didn’t pack your lunch.  The itis will kick in mid-afternoon, right when you have that important meeting where you need to be “on”.  So dinner was a big fat question mark.  And one that I really didn’t want to be bothered with.  But thank God for men who can cook.  I got the call at my desk “You want me to take care of dinner?”  And graciously accepted the offer.  That was before I drove out to Podunk, got lost in Podunk, almost got run over in Podunk, and finally dragged tail home.  Now what I expected was something simple — sauteed meat and veggies.  A one-pot meal to reduce the amount of dishes.  But what I got, was the masterpiece below.

stuffed_fish_2

Someone worked his magic and put a steaming plate of sauteed green beans (my favorite veggie), couscous, and crabmeat and shrimp stuffed tilapia in front of me.  Thank God for men who can cook!

3 Comments

  1. milkmayun
    Posted October 7, 2009 at 4:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    3 tilapia fillets
    1 can Phillips “special” crabmeat
    9 jumbo shrimp
    Celery flakes
    Onion flakes
    Cayenne pepper
    Paprika
    Salt
    Preheat oven to 400.

    I made 3 tilapia fillets. Each fillet got 3 of those semi-jumbo shrimp and about 1/6 of the can of “special” crabmeat. I mixed the crabmeat in a bowl with the celery flakes, onion flakes, cayenne pepper and salt, seasoned to taste. After washing the fillets and sprinkling paprika and salt on them, I scooped some of the crab meat on them and then laid the shrimp on top and on the side. I used wooden kabob skewers to pin the fillets closed, taking care to spear a shrimp in the process. In theory, you could use wooden toothpicks, but they didn’t seem like they would get the job done because these were overstuffed. Also, the sticks work better if they are soaked in water for 20 minutes beforehand. After spearing the fish into a bundle, I put some olive oil down in the pan, laid the stuffed fish in the pan, and baked it for 20 minutes. Easy!

  2. Tanisha
    Posted October 7, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OK so um… I guess I have a new recipe. Thanks Mr. Man That Can Cook!

  3. Honest
    Posted October 8, 2009 at 5:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks great!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

