Pumpkin Curry

Here’s the original recipe, from which I adapted the recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 1 small cooking pumpkin, peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup dried grated unsweetened coconut
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 small green chilis, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Boil the pumpkin with the turmeric, paprika, and water for 6-8 minutes, until tender.
  2. Stir in the coconut and cumin, and continue cooking for 2-3 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in the curry powder, salt, and chilis.  Let sit for 2-3 minutes before serving.

************************

This recipe was okay, but I didn’t love it.  Definitely a 3 on a 1-5 scale.  The original recipe called for several ingredients I didn’t have — freshly grated coconut, sunflower oil, black mustard seeds, and curry leaves.  I substituted with the curry powder and dried coconut but had no substitute for the black mustard seeds.  Also, I was expecting a chunky mashed potato texture.  Instead, it’s really liquid with (fully formed) pumpkin cubes.  The dried coconut stays hard even when cooked and is my least favorite part of this dish.  It’s kinda like when you eat a macaroon and there’s coconut still in your mouth after you finished it.  So I would recommend substituting 1 cup coconut milk for the dried coconut (and reducing the water accordingly).  Also, I love the pumpkin curry from the Fojol Brothers, which includes cardamom pods.  I’m on the lookout for a recipe using cardamom as one of the primary spices, I think that will appeal to my taste buds more.  I have 2 more pumpkins to experiment with!

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 3, 2009 at 5:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s a shame that this recipe didn’t work out! The title sounded really delicious. I made a good curry sweet potato last week….. oven at 450, 20 minutes in. cubes of two sweet potatoes covered with three tablespoons of melted butter with one tablespoon of curry powder and about a half tablespoon of curry paste. really yummy!

    • Donna
      Posted November 12, 2009 at 3:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

      The real shame is that we only ate half of it and I’m trying to figure out what to do with the remaining half in my freezer!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

