Pho-licious

I tried my hand at homemade pho.  And let me tell you, it was fantastic.

An experiment for sure, it’s being added to the rotation as a regular meal.  I decided to try pho mainly because it’s been cold and rainy here and I had the leftover chicken carcass from last week’s rotisserie chicken.

I started by boiling the rotisserie chicken in a pot of water.  I cooled everything, discarded the bones and skin and returned the shredded meat back to the pot.  I then dropped in ~1 inch of lemongrass and lightly salted the broth.  If I’d had it, this would’ve been the time to add in a piece of ginger and a bit of fish sauce.

I took half a pack of pad thai noodles (any rice noodle should do) and soaked them in hot water to soften.  While they were softening, I prepped lime wedges, jalapeno slices, bean sprouts, sliced scallions, and fresh basil.  To make the soup more robust, I also added mushroom slices and cilantro.

To serve, I filled two bowls with noodles, chicken, and steaming broth.  We each then dressed our soups as desired from the available condiments.  I of course went for lots of lime and jalapeno, a hearty portion of bean sprouts, a dab of mushrooms and scallions, and several basil leaves.

This soup was a winner.  And although there is a pho place down the street from me (and a new one opening around the corner), I suspect this will become a regular recipe whenever I have leftover chicken to make the broth.

2 Comments

  1. Sabrina
    Posted November 2, 2009 at 12:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I want to give this a shot. Will LOVES pho…I thought it was good, but I’d like to give it my own twist.

    Did you find a new CSA yet? I am looking into it for next year. I’ve been wanting to do it for some time.

    • Donna
      Posted November 12, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Will and I are on the same page. I too love Pho.

      And I haven’t found a new CSA yet. I have a particular one I want to join, I’m just crossing my fingers that they have space for me this year. If not, I may go back to the one I used this year.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

