Menu Planning

New week, new plan right?  I learned some things from last week’s menu planning.  1) Plan for leftovers or eating out on Friday, 2) It’s not a great time saver if you don’t prep things in advance, and 3) You’ll need a midweek trip to replenish your fruit.

So this week’s menu is Asian Fish Stew, Beef & Broccoli stir-fry, and Red Beans & Rice.  I spent ~$100 in the grocery store — although I bought a few extra things that won’t be used this week.  I had a very difficult time buying fruit as the grapes were mutants (about the size of limes) and there wasn’t much to choose from.  Harris Teeter’s fruit selection was way better last week!

I washed all of the herbs and stored them in ziploc bags in the fridge.  The mutant grapes, broccoli, and other veggies received the same treatment.  I couldn’t find a 1 lb. piece of flank steak (long story) so I bought a 2 lb piece and froze half of it.  The remaining half was thinly sliced and stored for quick stir frying.

I packed lunches and snacks for tomorrow, baked veggie quiches for the morning, and shut the kitchen down.  Whew!  I can’t wait to see if all this prep leaves me feeling less frazzled during the week.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

