Morning Glory Muffins

Since Pret no longer carries the carrot muffins I love so much, I’ve been looking for other ways to get my fix.  The Pret muffins were in a dark spice batter packed with carrots, raisins (I think), and coconut.  I’m sure it was a take on Morning Glory Muffins so here I go trying to perfect the recipe and make it a little healthier.  The original recipe is here, but I made several modifications.  For one, I increased the whole wheat flour to 1 cup and decreased the white flour to the same amount.  I chopped my carrots in the food processor instead of grating them.  I didn’t bother to peel the apple before chopping it in the food processor as well.  I forgot to add the raisins, although I’d bought golden raisins just for this purpose.  I used 2 whole eggs and just omitted the egg whites.  Instead of apple butter, I used the same amount of unsweetened apple sauce.  I omitted the walnuts and added the wheat germ to the muffin batter itself.  And I added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg with the cinnamon and 1/4 cup grated (unsweetened) coconut with the carrots.

My muffins looked great.  The texture was good, the wet to dry ratio was good, and I liked the flavor.  My real complaint is with the sweetness.  These muffins were incredibly sweet.  So sweet I couldn’t imagine what they’d be like with the raisins and apple butter.  The next time I make these, I’m cutting the sugar down to 3/4 of a cup.  I’ll also grate the carrots and apple so you get a stronger bit of their flavor with each bite.  And I may top the muffins with an oats for presentation.

One Comment

  1. Honest
    Posted November 13, 2009 at 7:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    uhhhhh yuck Carrots :-(. lol!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

