Check Writing

Don’t let your mouth write a check that your behind can’t cash.

I grew up hearing this saying over and over again.  It was normally in relation to some little kid mouthiness.  It has stuck with me even today but every now and again, I seemingly forget.  On a cold ambitious day just a couple of weeks ago, I signed up for the Cherry Blossom 10-Mile Run.  It seemed like a great plan — there is plenty of time to train properly, the weather should be good for running, it’s a chance to actually see the Cherry Blossoms from something other than my car window, and it will force me to get serious about running and working out.  I was so enthusiastic I even started a team and got some of my friends to join me.

10 miles… as my first race… with a time limit… and did I mention that I hadn’t been running since September?

Reality has now set it and it’s not pretty.  That training schedule I printed out that said I should be running 3 miles a day by now, it’s in the trash.  Those long runs on the weekends have never even happened.  And the two miles I eke out occasionally have not gotten any easier.  I’ve even stopped going to Zumba and have put on the blessed holiday pounds.

I’m really starting to wonder if I can cash this check.

2 Comments

  1. Honest
    Posted December 28, 2009 at 7:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You can take it all the way to the bank and cash it. 🙂

  2. Posted December 29, 2009 at 5:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I know that you want to cash this check, and I want you to be able to. Good luck with your training, but I urge you to listen to your body and don’t push too hard. Having run several marathon’s I know of what I speak.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

