Buffalo Wings

I really truly love buffalo wings.  They are hot, crispy, and when done right, tender.  And the pairing with blue cheese dip and celery sticks is wonderful.  I LOVE celery sticks and often eat them with my sandwiches.  Pairing with hot spicy wings and cool blue cheese is perfection indeed.

There are buffalo wing purists out there who state the wings must be fried and rolled in a mixture of hot sauce and butter.  Ok, I get it.  This recipe isn’t for them.  I’ve never felt wedded to the confines of a recipe and my buffalo wing recipe is really based on what I like and how I can make them a little bit healthier without sacrificing taste.

I don’t have exact amounts for this recipe because I really do it by feel.  But here goes.

  1. Wash and pat dry chicken wing portions (or party wings, same thing).  Season lightly with garlic powder, paprika, and crushed red pepper (if you want them extra extra hot).
  2. Fill a deep skillet or stockpot with about 1 inch of cooking oil (vegetable, peanut, canola, corn, etc.).  Do not use olive oil (although I will sometimes blend ~25% olive oil with the cooking oil).  Heat over medium high heat.
  3. Once the oil is heated, gently add wings to the oil.  Be careful not to crowd them, you want a single layer of wings.
  4. Cook for a few minutes on each side until golden brown and crispy.  Remove from the oil and drain on paper towels or a cooling rack set over a baking sheet.
  5. In a small bowl, pour in the hot sauce of your choice.  My choice is Frank’s Red Hot. Add your drained wings and toss them in the sauce to coat.  Note I don’t add any butter to the sauce to dilute it.
  6. Pour the hot sauce coated wings onto a baking sheet and bake at 325 degrees for about 15 minutes — until they are no longer sticky.
  7. Serve with blue cheese or ranch dip and veggie sticks – celery, carrot, bell pepper, zucchini, etc.
Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

