Guacamole

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe Haas avocados
  • 1/2 cup finely diced red onion
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 finely diced jalapeño pepper (or two serrano peppers)
  • 1 finely diced Roma tomato (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped cilantro
  • salt, to taste

Instructions

  1. In a bowl, mix avocado, red onion, lime juice, and tomato.  Mash gently with a potato masher to mix.
  2. Stir in cilantro.
  3. Add salt and chopped jalapeño/serrano pepper to reach desired heat level and flavor.
  4. Cover the surface with plastic wrap (the plastic wrap should be in direct contact with the guacamole), seal, and chill until serving.
3 Comments

  1. Posted February 6, 2010 at 12:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love guacamole! I just had a question regarding your recipe: you say to use one jalapeno or two serrano peppers…serranos tend to be considerably hotter than jalapenos (also, serranos have more of a…naked heat, not much flavor, whereas jalapenos add both some heat and flavor.) I guess I am wondering if you put the options as a difference between a more mild vs. hotter guacamole? (I think personally, I like jalapenos for guac, because I enjoy the flavor of the pepper…but it really depends on the palate of those eating it, i guess :))

    • Donna
      Posted February 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

      It’s a personal preference. I like it hot so usually use a mix of jalapenos for their flavor and serranos for some raw heat. Those with milder palates may want to only use a little jalapeno. That’s why I recommend you add it at the end and add the right amount needed to meet your taste preference.

      I also like to add some dried ground chipotle chile pepper. I’ll post a picture momentarily. I like it because I can keep it on hand without it going back and b/c it adds both smoke and heat.

  2. Posted February 6, 2010 at 10:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    we also keep dried peppers on hand… dried chipotles (though we always get them whole), as well as dried arbole chiles. i do like the idea of using chipotle in guacamole, though…i may have to try that! i can imagine that the smokiness makes for an interesting twist on the old classic.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

