Shrimp Noodle Soup

My preference is to whip up a fancy, multi-dish meal every night.  But if I did that, we’d be eating at 10 pm.  So I plan ahead (lots of Sunday cooking) and use shortcuts to feed us well during the week.  Last week, I followed a stressful workday with a trip to the grocery store (which was filled with snow hoarders).  I was beyond exhausted when I got home and just wanted something warm and comforting.  Thus, the shrimp noodle soup.

In a pot, I mixed ~2 cups chicken stock, 2 cups water, 1 sliced garlic clove, sliced ginger (same amount as 1 clove of garlic), frozen mixed veggies, frozen onion, and frozen kale.  I seasoned with salt and pepper to taste.  Once the broth was bubbling and the flavor was adjusted, I added 10 large shrimp (thawed) and 1/2 package of rice noodles.  Once the rice noodles softened, everything was served in a steaming hot bowl.

Note: If you don’t have rice noodles, just substitute with 2 packs of ramen noodles.  Don’t use the seasoning packet, just the noodles.

One Comment

  1. Posted March 7, 2011 at 4:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OMG..this sounds really good and light and Atkins friendly. Can I try it without the noodles? Or is there a noodle-like veggie I could use??

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

