Positively Porktastic

This weekend, I decided it was time to cook my ham.  I bought a smoked fully cooked ham right before Easter but ended up storing it in the freezer instead of cooking it.  This was the time to cook it.  I was craving a semi-traditional Southern Sunday dinner, we were having a friend over, and it was too warm for hot food.

So here’s the menu:

  • Brown-sugar glazed ham
  • Potato salad
  • Green bean salad

I started with the ham.  This was honestly the easiest part.  I cooked it as specified on the package until only 30 mins were left in the cooking time.  I took it out of the oven, and used a knife to score the exterior of the ham with a diamond pattern.  In a small bowl, I mixed 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of dry mustard, and few tablespoons of ham drippings to create a glaze.  I then poured the glaze over the hot ham, turned the oven temperature up to 400 degrees, and baked the ham for the remaining 30 minutes, until the proper internal temperature was reached.

For the potato salad, I boiled 3 large red potatoes and 2 eggs until cooked throughout.  I diced everything finely and mixed with 2 sprigs celery (diced), 1/2 small orange pepper (diced), 2 tablespoons chopped parsley, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1 1/2 tablespoons mayo, and salt to taste.

The green bean salad was super easy too.  First, steam a 12 oz. package of fresh haricots vert (I get these from the produce section of the grocery store) for no more than 7 minutes.  Remove from steam and immediately immerse in ice water to stop the cooking.  Drain in a colander.  Mix the green beans with 1/4 Vidalia onion (thinly sliced), ~10 grape tomatoes (sliced in half), 1/2 cucumber (seeded and sliced).  Make a vinaigrette of 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, 1 tablespoon fresh thyme, 1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon, salt & pepper to taste.  Pour over the green beans, mix well, and cool in the refrigerator.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

