Back to Calorie Counting

Calorie counting worked really well for me.  It helped me lose and keep off 12 love pounds and it has reset my idea of what enough food is even when I’m not actively calorie counting.  Now I still have 20+ pounds I want to lose, but those have been with me for years now they’re kinda like old friends so I’ve been less proactive about ridding myself of them.  But that ends now.  Milk has decided he wants to try calorie counting and it just seems natural for me to pick it up with him.

In the past, I used My Food Diary.  I like their service but there is a nominal fee where similar services are available for free.  Any fans of Sparkpeople out there?

With calorie counting my drinking is seriously restricted.  SERIOUSLY.  A glass of wine is ~100 calories.  And a mixed drink — forget it.  In fact, I attended a wine/cheese party while I was calorie counting last fall.  I didn’t eat at all that day because I needed to save up my calories.  Not one of my finest moments but…

Meat and starch quickly burn through my calorie allotment.  I need to find a good vegetarian or veggie focused cookbook for those who eat meat but want to eat less of it.  That helps with those 300-400 calorie meals.  Please leave any cookbook recommendations in the comments.

So everyone, please send positive thoughts and prayers my way.  I’ll have to deal with my own food restricted bad mood in addition to Milk’s.  We will stay focused on the end goal and push our way through.

3 Comments

  1. SIP
    Posted February 15, 2010 at 4:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Positive thoughts waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay up because I believe in you. Love you being more vain!

  2. Posted February 27, 2010 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m not sure counting calories is the only way to go. How about adding some exercise like an extra 30 minute walk a day combined with your eating plan for better results? Healthy eating is only part of the equation toward weight loss.

    Quick tip: to make your meat go further, cut it into smaller pieces and mix with your veggies and add “filler” like barley, beans, and oats to feel fuller longer.

  3. Carol Frank
    Posted March 22, 2010 at 9:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Donna, I hadn’t looked at your blog for a while. Bravo to you for your efforts and confessions. I too struggle, as you know. But I have had success in the past four months, losing about 15 pounds. I did it by eating 5 small meals a day. I did not consciously plan the meals but put things in the refrigerator that I could grab quickly when feeling hungry. These consist of fruit, veggies, greek yogurt, cheeses (hard and cottage types), small pieces of leftover steak, chicken, fish, etc. I basically cut back on carbs but still may have a bowl of cereal or a 1-slice sandwich. I haven’t made any waffles or pancakes and use the frozen biscuits or rolls as needed to fill out a meal, baking only one for myself. I have still gone to the Italian restaurant and still have 1/2 cup of my Blue Bell Vanilla ice cream when I feel like it. Now, the exercise part is harder, but I have my gym membership back and working on that.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*